Monday, February 9, 2009

You Gotta Forgive to Forget

If you were to take the life of Jesus Christ and put it on a DVD, you'd hear all about this guy who was around for the better part of 30+ years and he performed miracles and things people had never seen before, yet he constantly drew criticism and jealousy from people in almost every city he ever set foot in. Of course, most of the us know how the story ends... graphically, he was crucified and made a martyr and a mockery during his final lasting minutes, but when he was no longer a part of the living Earth, some still felt the good riddance and a select few wept because they knew they'd seen someone that wasn't average... someone that was going to make a difference when he entered and left. So, "What's your point, Joe?" I'd be quite the rediculous person to say that Alex Rodriguez is baseball what Jesus Christ was to the water-to-wine game, but you can't ignore the parallels.



"I thought he was our last savior," - Hall of Famer, George Brett

A-Rod was supposed to be the savior. He was supposed to rescue this poor national pastime, that has been tainted and mocked with allegations of almost every superstar that has played in the last 20 years: Mark McGuire, Sammy Sosa, Roger Clemens and of course, the alpha target, Barry Bonds. All these players have been tippy-toeing and locked up in federal allogations of purgery for lying to everyone and their mother. Alex was supposed to be the One... the greatest player to ever step on ANY baseball field. Major league baseball, fans, media and the game were all relying on Alex to carry on with his pace of hitting home runs and winning MVP awards so that we could all forget what has tainted the water. The 800lb. gorilla that keeps sitting in the room; the steroids topic that never seems to die down because SOMEONE new always gets uncovered. Today, Alex was that guy. Sadly, everyone had to look down and cringe because they knew that all that was pure and right with beliving in A-Rod was a lie.

But unlike the rest of the muscled bandits, he's the only one that has come out and said "I did it. I made a mistake." Does it justify that he cheated like the rest of them? No. Does it make his accomplishments seem altered? Possibly. But for the 33-year old infielder, he's able to do two things: 1. Allow the fans to get it out of their system. Some will not forget this admittance, some will, but if people want to still believe there's a chance at redemption, then there is. 2. His greatest missing jewel is a World Championship with any team he's ever played on. The Yankees are locked and LOADED with the best team they've had on paper in the last 10 years this spring, along with a new bazillion dollar stadium waiting to break the seal. If he can help deliver a title to New York for the first time this decade, then the hangover can be absorbed and he'll be drinking champaigne and smokin' cigars.
Ironically, those are only drugs that every baseball player wants to test positive for come October.

Tuesday, September 30, 2008

The Latest Endangered Species... Jaguars

Another sad example of a professional football player, who instead of delivering a pancake block on some imposing defensive end, he's learning how to carry on without a team behind him... and two working legs.

Offensive tackle Richard Collier, who was unfortunately shot in his car in early September, was upgraded from critical condition to stable status after suffering 14 gunshot wounds... yes, 14. Even 50 Cent only brags about being shot nine times.

Unfortunately for the 26-year old Collier, he had to have his left leg amputated due to wounds and blood clots. So, now he must learn to carry on in a wheelchair.

The worst part of this incident in my opinion is that the lack of details as to WHY he was sitting in a car outside an apartment building for a "lady", while his former teammate, Kenneth Pettway, was sitting in the passenger seat. Pettway suffered NO gunshot wounds during the attack.

So, to avoid blackeyes and scarring of the player's union, as well as the bazillion-dollar league, no one besides those two gentlemen will know the true details of why they were in that situation that night. People will support him in his future ventures and hope that he has a speedy recovery because that's what your supposed to do for someone who suffered such a physical loss, turning a blind eye to the poor decision he made.

And worse, no one wants to know because the idea of a Jacksonville Jaguars jersey with 14 holes in it doesn't really sell too many at the mall.

Thursday, August 28, 2008

Another life for Pacman

It's almost time for another NFL season with all the preseason games finalizing this week and the final roster cuts being executed so they can get down to brass tacks. For the Dallas Cowboys, they actually activated one player to their roster for regular season activity today, thanks to the pardon of league commissioner Roger Goddell. Oh, that's right. Pacman Jones. The man responsible for a strip club shooting in Vegas during NBA All-Star weekend two years ago.

Owner Jerry Jones has put together a contending football club with only the biggest of knuckleheads in the league that have either smeared the good name of the NFL with gun violations, stripclub shootings or just plain running of the mouth. Terrell Owens, Tank Johnson, Mr. Jones... they all are high-caliber players who had burned every previous bridge they crossed before. Whether its the media circuit or being suspended for over a year, these guys have apparently squared up with the house and paid their dues. Do I think so? No. Should they be allowed to make millions of dollars again and face "possible future suspensions"? No. Should they even be allowed to have jerseys sold with their names on them for children to idolize and wear? Again, no.

I've always looked at every professional sport league as a privledge to participate in. It's something that was there before any player arrived and it'll be there after they leave . No one is bigger than the game. So, why do these guys all get a second chance at the opportunity to play, make the money and potentially screw up again? Because the league apparently can make more money and attention with these guys than some college grad walk-on who has never had a parking ticket in his life. And of course, because Jerry Jones is the godfather of gathering the poor, tired, huddled masses yearing to breath free... and the 'boys get more tv time than Ryan Seacrest once the season starts, the NFL is going to have hot topics and potential feel-good stories with these guys that is going to make the team, the owner and the commissioner look like a f*cking genius.

And in the end, even if any of these guys don't perform up to their superstar playing status, they're all winners because they didn't shoot anyone, badmouth the team or get caught with assault weapons in their SUV this season. The NFL fraternity doesn't have to keep things fair or justified. They just have to keep people glued to their televisions every sunday until late January.

Go Cowboys.

Monday, August 25, 2008

War at Home

I couldn't believe when i woke up today that the Olympics from Beijing, China were over. As described, I wasn't as die hard a tv fan as I have been in the past, which doesn't make sense because everything was in HD tv, on one of seven NBC channels and there was enough drama to rival a season of Guiding Light.

When I turned on the AM sports radio on my morning commute, everyone was discussing how the U.S. flexed their muscles by finishing first in the overall medal winnings (110) to China (100) and Russia (72). Of course, we didn't win the most gold medals, but ours came in the events that matter in our eyes... basketball, track & field and anything that Michael Phelps breathes on.

It's also at this time that your going to hear the finalized stories involving scandals with doping athletes, underage gymnasts and roundhouse-kicked referrees (yes, that happened in TaeKwanDo).

Charles Robinson wrote a piece for Yahoo! Sports regarding the country of Somalia and the two... yes, TWO athletes they sent to Beijing. With their second decade of civil war still tearing a third-world country apart, both runners (Samia Yusuf Omar and Abdi Said Ibrahim) competed on a level that probably wasn't deserving of their athletic prowess, but it never meant that they didn't deserve to be there.

Omar, an 17-year-old war survivor, who lives with her seven family members in a two-room house, was entered by her country into the women's 200-meter dash (one of the most electric and competitive women's events in the games). We've all seen pictures of what a world-class women's sprinter looks like... stoic face etched out of stone, revolutionary skin-tight uniforms that streamline their muscular bodies, highlighting every physical feature for intimidation and performance. And there was Omar... with her underdeveloped figure, jersey untucked, headband placed like an accessory just to look like she belonged. Truly, an ant among elephants.

There was no miracles or fairy tale story with this race, as Omar finished in a competition-worst 32 seconds; over 8 seconds after the event's eventual winner, Jamaica's Veronica Campbell-Brown. Apparently, the crowd even rose to their feet to cheer for the girl as she had only approached the final turn when all other runners had crossed the finish line already.

I guess, the who point of view that I'm taking on is that for two weeks every election year, the summer is occupied by these world superpowers want to flex their political power by putting thoroughbred athletes that receive the finest coaches, breakthrough technology and cutting-edge supplements so they can have bragging rights until the next games. In the case of Omar and Somalia, there is no facilities or powerbars or even teammates to cheer for support. The country sent these two runners with no intention of winning to China and with only the breath in their lungs, as to say "They are competing because the war has spared them and survival is the ultimate goal." Sadly, Omar's probably not even looking forward to training for the next Olympics as she only trains to live for another day back in Mogodishu.

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Eyes On the Prize

I'm admitting that my Olympic fanfare is slacking on a whole new level this year. In the past, I was glued to my moving picture box for 2 solid weeks because... well, it's the Olympics. However, I have been trying to read AP stories and updates on the events and of course, anytime swimmer Michael Phelps breathes, wins gold, farts or blinks... he's instantly a headline (rightfully so, he is the winningest Olympian EVER).

I actually crossed some drama with the men's basketball competition today as a picture crossed my path that i'm not really sure how to take. Take a look for yourself:
















It's the Spainish national team, posing for a full-page ad in a Madrid newspaper prior to the Olympics. Apparently the ad represented a sponsor of the team and their bid for the Olympics. Notice how they're all making "chinese eyes" with their hands. It might not seem like a big deal on a world scale because maybe this picture was taken out of context... or maybe it was part of a campaign that is an inside joke within the borders of Spain? However, I do know that players in the photo such as Paul Gasol and Jose Calderon, who each play in the NBA and make millions of dollars, representing one of the richest sports leagues on the planet, are part of this instance.

"It was supposed to be a picture that inspired the Olympic spirit," Gasol said. How that was supposed to inspire, is beyond me. I mean, it could have been a situation where the this team sponsor was like "Strike a pose for us, because we pay to have the uniforms on your backs." Regardless, there was some definite lines crossed here and the irony lies in that it's the USA team players, not the Chinese, that are making the biggest noise.

"We would’ve been already thrown out of the Olympics,” USA guard Jason Kidd told Yahoo! Sports. “At least, we wouldn’t have been able to come back to the U.S.…There would be suspensions.”

Bottom line is that players like Gasol and Calderon should know better to act in such a manner, especially since they're part of an international basketball association that represents Spain just as much as China in their league's diversity. The NBA hands out millions of dollars in fines every season due to owners or players calling out referees, fighting on the court or even missing schedule games due to hissy fits. The FIBA (the European governing body of professional basketball) dismissed the situation already, as apparently China's well-being has nothing to do with them. Kinda sad to see the buck passed during the most coveted sporting tournament in any century.

In the end, I believe that class and sophistication follows any team that emulates being a true champion, because... well, they're the best and represent the sport in such a manner, pridefully. Can you even picture this team posing in the same way because Nike told them to?



Yeah, me neither.

Friday, July 25, 2008

Bad Boy

The WNBA has officially sunk to the level of the NBA. That's pretty bad. In the men's NBA, fighting has always been a trademarked highlight that filtered the league's classy guys from the knuckleheads who think they're still defending their ego in some schoolyard game. Kermit punching Rudy, the Knicks playoff brawl of '97, and of course the melee at Auburn Hills four years ago.



Well, the women have officially arrived with their own highlight. On Tuesday, July 22 with less than five seconds left in the game, the L.A. Sparks high-profile rookie Candace Parker and Detroit's Plenette Pierson tangled and quickly skirmished on the floor, clearing both benches and causing an impromptu players riot at where else? Auburn Hills, Michigan.
If you watch the footage, you'll see why 10 players were handed suspensions for multiple games along with fines. Also, during the fight, Detroit lost their all-star forward Cheryl Ford for the season due to torn knee ligaments as she tried to restrain other players and was wheeled off the court by medics after. So, who really received the raw deal from all this? Detroit assistant coach Rick Mahorn.

Mahorn entered the fight and cleared L.A.'s Lisa Leslie out by pushing her off the pile. Leslie after the game gave commentary on how Mahorn, for no reason, shoved her to the ground as she was simply going into the mess to "help up teammates." Stir into the mix the fact that the 6'9" Mahorn is twice the size of any female on the court and he's a retired former Detroit "Bad Boy", who used to make his living being a goon and brawling in the 80's for the Pistons on that very same court. Mahorn was handed a two-game suspension from the league, despite his efforts at being a peacemaker.

Did Mahorn jump into the middle of a fight with 20+ women on national television? Yes. Did he put his hands on one of them? Yes. Did he do it to escalate the situation? I highly doubt it. Mahorn is a proud father of four daughters and i'm sure that wasn't the first girlfight he's ever had to step in the middle of.

"It's unfortunate that players get suspended. These things happen. That's the way business works some days. I don't comment on suspensions because it's beyond my control. Except for Rick Mahorn. He was out there being a peacemaker, something happened and he was not involved and that's bad."

This was told by Detroit head coach Bill Laimbeer, who also was a former teammate and Detroit Bad Boy back in the hayday. Even L.A. Sparks head coach Michael Cooper backed Laimbeer, calling Mahorn a "peacemaker" as well.

In my opinion, Leslie's feelings got hurt as she was embarassed on ESPN by getting shoved and had no contribution in helping her teammates. The league quickly backed her cry of wolf and dished out punishment to put ice over their new black eye. I think its pathetic how Leslie's version of "damsel in distress" got someone else in trouble. If she put her pride aside and was able to look at what happened, she would see that she was doing exactly what Mahorn was doing, except he got to the task first and used Leslie for the first step of intervention. Shame on Leslie personally throwing him under the bus. Shame on the league for punishing Mahorn and shame on anyone who thinks he should sit out any time whatsoever.

Outside of the undersized basketball, high school-level scoring and complete lack of excitement, I guess I can throw one more reason why the WNBA doesn't deserve this sport fan's time of day.

Thursday, July 24, 2008

In the Army Now...


I'm sure everyone has one or two stories of a time when your parents allowed you to commit to a special request when you asked them. A super-hyped birthday party at McDonalds for some kid in your 2nd grade class, or maybe you get to stay out till 11pm with your friends for the first time because you did so well on your SAT's... WITH the car. All awesome moments of freedom, right? Well, guess what? Dad just ripped up your invitation to the party and told you that you get to help him pick rocks in the backyard. Or in Caleb Campbell's case, Uncle Sam just told him that the NFL is no place for committed soldiers, despite their initial release of him to be drafted by the Detroit Lions this offseason. He was to report to Lions training camp this Friday, July 25th.


After devoting 4 years for the Army football team at West Point, Campbell was a recognized safety on the Knight's defense and drew plenty of attention based on his physical skills and knack of getting to the ball anywhere on the field. The U.S. Department of Defense however, changed their "Alternative Service Option" on July 8th to include all professional athletes who served that "a soldier must complete two years of active service before requesting a release. " Bottom line, Mr. Campbell isn't eligable for anything until 2010 now.


There are so many angles to glance from in this discussion. Should someone who commits to the military be allowed to leave early for a professional sport? Is the Army right for allowing him to be drafted and then retracting his release on a whim? Also, if the policy went into affect on the 8th, why did Campbell receive his notice of service on July 23rd? I'm sure we're all on a need to know basis but according to the Lions head coach Rod Marinelli, "He was issued a helmet, ready to go." If you read the AP article, you can hear the disappointment in Campbell's voice when he was asked on the matter. However, his final statement of "It’s my job in the United States Army. This is how I’m serving my country.” was delivered like a true soldier is told.


I think my biggest gripe comes with how this isn't the first time the U.S. Army has made some terrible headlines, crossing with the NFL. If you can remember, former Arizona Cardinals' safety Pat Tillman left his life on the gridiron and millions of dollars in salary to become an Army Ranger to serve with his brother in Iraq and Afghanistan. Unfortunately, he was killed on April 22, 2004 overseas. Sounds dignified, right? Well, what the Army didn't release to the public and Tillman's family was that he died of friendly fire, at the hands of one of his fellow soldiers. To perserve the honor and valor that came with his all-american, apple pie story brought to the Army, the government didn't speak up for months until long after his news became old; truly until Tillman had nothing left to give the Army.


I can only hope that Campbell does his two years of active duty and not only survives his tour, but is able to have his dream of playing professional football back. Both of these men committed to the the Army, so, there was no draft or gun put to their head to make them give up their athletic passion. I guess for someone like myself who can only be a fan of either the NFL or the Armed Forces, you have to believe that both professions are an honor in their own right. Regardless of what Campbell wants, spokesperson Lt. Col. Anne Edgecomb let everyone know how the Army feels on the matter:


"What he’s accomplished on a football field has been outstanding, but what he’ll accomplish as a soldier will be even greater.”



I wonder if Tillman and Campbell feel the same way.